2012 new AMPAS members

Octavia Spen­cer, Michelle Yeoh and Mat­thew Mc­Conaughey are among the new mem­bers of the Academy of Mo­tion Pic­ture Arts & Sci­ences, ac­cord­ing to a list re­leased by the or­gan­iz­a­tion that hosts the an­nu­al Oscar ce­re­mony. The mem­bers are the first to be an­nounced since a Times series earli­er this year ex­amined the lack of di­versity among those vot­ing on Oscar nom­in­a­tions and wins.

Published: June 29, 2012
Sources: The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences
About The Data Desk

This page was created by the Data Desk, a team of reporters and Web developers in downtown L.A.

Readers: Find something newsworthy? Mention it here.

Or email a tip to doc­